Pesto and Tomato Frittata

Researching recipes to prepare for a birthday brunch for our two year old (can it seriously already be time for a second birthday party?), I wanted something easy, accessible, and preferably something that I could make ahead so I had less to stress over the day of the party, especially since we planned to host the party at a local park. Since we wouldn’t have access to electricity while at the park, I couldn’t use the crockpot (which I usually do whenever I have a party and don’t want to be cooking right up until the guests arrive). Luckily, I found some good ideas in Diane Phillips’ Perfect Party Food. The self-proclaimed “Diva of Do-Ahead” offers a lot of interesting ideas and recipes in the thick book, but unfortunately I have to return it to the library before I get to try out very many of them. I’ll update with pictures when I test out the recipes.

Ingredients:

  • 8 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup pesto
  • 1/2 cup oil packed sun-dried tomatoes, drained and cut into matchsticks
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan

Directions:

1. Coat a 10 inch round baking dish with non-stick cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, whisk the eggs and milk until blended. Stir in 1 cup of the mozzarella, the pesto, and the tomatoes. Pour into prepared dish and top with remaining mozzarella and parmesan.

(At this point you can cover and refrigerate overnight)

3. Preheat oven to 350 F. Bake the frittata until  puffed, golden and set in the center, 35-40 minutes.

At this point you can let it cool, cover, and refrigerate overnight. Serve the frittata cold or at room temperature, or reheat covered with foil in a 350 F oven for 15 minutes.

Leave a Reply

