Spinach Veggie Bake

In the ongoing quest for filling, healthy, kosher-for-Passover meals, I remembered that I had a file of Passover recipes lurking on my computer that I had located years ago and never actually tried.  This is one I adapted from the pile.  It didn’t look anything like I imagined, but has a lot of flavor and tastes great reheated in packed lunches.  I thought it would look and taste quiche-like, and I bet it would if I upped the egg count, but I liked the heavier focus on the vegetables.  I’m not normally a fan of cooked spinach, preferring raw, but the baked spinach here does not resemble the mushy, globby cooked spinach of my memory.  I packed slices of the Spinach Veggie Bake for lunch for both my husband and I along with some matzah and Muenster cheese on the side.  It proved tasty and very filling.  Since it was so yummy and easy to make, I plan to continue making it after Passover for bento lunches.

Making this meal a little lighter, we substituted egg beaters (fat-free, cholesterol free egg white mixture) for the eggs.  We had a little trouble smashing the bouillon cube to powder, so mixed it with a very small amount of water and then smashed it.  Monkey chopped the vegetables while I sautéed the onions, which cut down on the time it took to get the dish into the oven.  You could easily add in your own favorite vegetables to this dish.

  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 5 carrots, sliced
  • 1 zucchini, chopped
  • 20 oz fresh spinach, chopped
  • 1/2 Cup Matzah Meal
  • 6 to 9 eggs (you decide the consistency you’d like best)
  • salt
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube, smashed to powder
  • fresh ground pepper
  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil

1 Heat oven to 325 — Prepare 9 x 13 pan — grease well.

2. Saute onions in 1 T oil.

3. Combine all ingredients together in a big bowl (you can add the sautéed onions right to the mixture without cooling).

4. Mix thoroughly. The egg will pretty much disappear into the mixture, but make sure you mix it up so all the spinach and veggies appear coated and so the onions and carrots look pretty evenly spread out.

5. Put into prepared pan. Bake 45 mins to 1 hour. Should be firm and set. This also freezes really well.

Leave a Reply

